Equity Committee Guidelines

wmcc Equity Committee Guidelines
academics

Equity Committee Guidelines

Philosophy

It is the philosophy of the College that all students and employees should be able to work and study in an environment free from all forms of discrimination including sexual harassment.

Mission

The Equity Committee ensures equal access to opportunities for success for all individuals who seek education at our college. We actively seek to

  • encourage diversity within the student body, the faculty, the staff, and the educational programs of the College;
  • provide information and services that promote equal opportunity and affirmative action;
  • promote equitable and fair treatment in every aspect of the College and campus life, education, and employment.

Goals

  • facilitate, monitor, evaluate, and ensure compliance of the College with federal, state, and local regulations pertaining to equal educational opportunity, equal employment opportunity, and affirmative action;
  • prevent discrimination in the education and employment programs of the College;
  • resolve disputes arising from alleged discrimination.

Objectives

  • communicate policies and procedures relative to discrimination;
  • encourage educational activities designed to eliminate prejudices and prevent discrimination;
  • provide training and technical assistance designed to eliminate discrimination;
  • administer procedures designed to resolve complaints of discrimination;
  • promote diversity in recruitment, education, and employment at the College.

Equity Plan

  • administer Equity Survey in the fall to WMCC students;
  • compile Equity Survey results;
  • share the results with the college community;
  • discuss findings and devise strategy on how best to further improve equity here at the College;
  • make sure Equity Committee webpage lists the College's Non-discrimination policy and current Equity Committee membership;
  • co-chairs will be contacts for people who have issues and concerns;
  • ensure the College catalog and student handbook contain the College's Non-discrimination policy and have contact information for the current Equity co-chairs.

Non-discrimination statement

The White Mountains Community College does not discriminate in the administration of its admissions and educational programs, activities, or employment practices on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, age, sex, handicap, veteran status, sexual orientation, or marital status. This statement is a reflection of the mission of the Community College System of NH and the White Mountains Community College and refers to, but is not limited to, the provisions of the following laws:

  • Title VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964
  • The Age Discrimination Act of 1967
  • Title IX of the Education Amendment of 1972
  • Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973
  • The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1975
  • Section 402 of the Vietnam Era Veteran's Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974
  • NH Law Against Discrimination (RSA 354-A).

Equity Committee

Donna Briere, Co-Chair, 752-1113 x3037, dbriere@ccsnh.edu
Philip Slocum, Co-Chair, 752-1113 x3091, pslocum@ccsnh.edu
Martha Creegan, 752-1113, x3020, mcreegan@ccsnh.edu
Lincoln Robertson, 752-1113 x3024, lrobertson@ccsnh.edu
Jack Verani, 752-1113 x3026, jverani@ccsnh.edu
Sandy Yunghans, 752-1113 x3029, syunghans@ccsnh.edu
Meagan Carr, 752-1113, x3086, mcarr@ccsnh.edu